Great Plains Emerging Writer Prize

Sadly, this award needs do go on hiatus for the 2015-16 academic year, if not beyond, because of funding issues.

If we are able to bring this prize back, we will announce it in Poets & Writers in the fall of the academic year that we’re able to offer it again.

The Great Plains Emerging Writer Prize, from the Great Plains Writers’ Conference at South Dakota State University, is given annually to a writer of the Great Plains region who has not yet published a book, but whose work and career shows exceptional promise.

* The winner will receive a $1000 honorarium and a featured reading at the conference in Brookings, SD in March, 2015, as well as land travel and lodging.
* Manuscripts will be judged anonymously by the GPWC committee.
* All genres open; include a maximum of 15 pages of poetry or hybrid-genre work, or a maximum of 20 pages of fiction, nonfiction, drama, or screenplay.
* Multiple submissions, whether in the same genre or different ones, are acceptable under separate entry fees.
* Work submitted may be previously published, but must be stripped of all information identifying the author or the venue. Judging will be blind.
* Include a cover letter so we can identify your submission when your name isn’t on it.
* Submissions open October 1, 2014. Postmark deadline December 1, 2014.
* You can also mail submissions to” English Department, South Dakota State University, Pugsley Center 301/Campus Box 2218, Brookings, SD 57007.
* Entry fee $15, payable to SDSU / Great Plains Writers’ Conference (or do this via Submittable).

The Great Plains region is broadly defined as reaching from western Minnesota to eastern Montana and from the Canadian border to central Oklahoma.

We consider writers to be “of” this region if they have resided here more than three years or have a demonstrable historical link to the region (e.g., you grew up here and moved away). Please state your relationship to the region in your cover letter.

In keeping with publishing industry standards, chapbooks are not considered full-length books, so writers who have published (or will have published) chapbooks still qualify for the competition. Those who have self-published books, or who have published books in other genres than the one they are submitting in, do not.

Learn about our 2014 winner, Chrstine Starr Davis of Lincoln, NE, and our  2013 winner, Gary Dop of Minneapolis, MN.

For queries, contact


2 Responses to Great Plains Emerging Writer Prize

  1. Andi says:

    Where’s the SUBMIT button??

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s